What I am NOT!

Have you ever been told what you should be or who you are. Have you tried your life to be something and that’s now WHO you are. As you grow up you have these ideas of what you want to be when you are an adult. I am a doctor. I am a lawyer, I am a ballerina, I am a teacher. I am a chef. I am a plumber. These are the things you looked forward to saying. Now as an adult you may be those things but more than likely what you said you wanted to be as a child isn’t what you are now as an adult. All the way up until 8th grade I wanted to be a marine biologist. Then I did my first animal dissection and realized that wasn’t for me. I will stick to loving dolphins and swimming. Then in high school I wanted to be an esthetician. I was learning all sorts of ways to take care of the face and massage. Graduation I was ready to pursue it but money and a bad relationship  derailed that.

A couple years later I became a mommy and no longer was working. Nutrition became my focus since that was something I could afford at the time and interested me. Online courses to get my Nutritionist Certification. Yay now I’m certified but my husband begged me to stay home and raise our son, Bubby. I wanted to be that mommy so back burner went my certification. (I don’t regret raising him those years at all) It wasn’t until 5 years later that my son was in school and my husband didn’t really have a say in me getting a job as long as I was home for Bubby. My certification was out dated and so was I. I got an office job and kept telling myself I would get to it. I would just keep my eyes open for something in my preferred field.

Now 12 years later I am not an Esthetician. I am not a Nutritionist. People ask what are you all the time and that question is a pain. I am a mommy, a friend, a sister, a daughter, an other half and a bunch of other “labels”. It doesn’t matter really to anyone what I am or what you are in the big picture of life. To me what matters is what you aren’t. Life changes you and you change course and you can choose to go that way or not. Who and what I was is behind me. I do not look back because then I can’t see where I am going.

Here is WHAT I AM NOT –

I am not a victim to my ILLNESS

I am not Weak

I am not Broken

I am not a Quitter

I am not Stupid

I am not Lazy

I am not Mean

I am not Ugly (everyone is beautiful)

I am not the Same

I am not Boring

I am not What I Do For a Living

I am not You (we are all ONLY ourselves)

What are you NOT?

 

Leave a comment