BBQ Chicken Salad

About a year ago I went to a restaurant with my BF and we ordered a bbq chicken salad to share.  It was the beginning of a love affair.  No other salad would ever do it for me again.  I was completely smitten. It was a truly balanced salad.  It has your protein, green ruffage, veggies, dairy, grains, beans, fruits…

Fruit? Yes it has tomatoes on it and even though is a hot button it is a fruit.  One that I omit however as I am not a fan of fresh tomatoes.

Fast forward a few months and enter my craving for this sexy salad. I didn’t have the funds or time to drive all the way over there to get one.  I realized I had everything I needed to make the salad right here at home.  Yes yes yes!

I love another hot button of debate fruit.  Avocados! oh yes the butteriness, the creaminess, the versatility of it.

Similar to the tomato , the avocado is a fruit that is often referred to as a vegetable.

Avocados, aka alligator pears, are in the Lauraceae family (laurel). Like some other fruits (apricots, plums, peaches) avocados have in the center a single large pit (seed).

There are so many health benefits of an avocado. And bonus it helps RA.  So is it an fruit or vegetable?  I don’t really care.  I use it inter-changeable.

I have modified it to our specifications and likes and needs.  Give it a try and see for yourself.

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Brush chicken with BBQ sauce place in oven for 25 – 30 minutes or until done.

2015-01-05 19.03.51

Remove chicken, let cool slightly, then chop chicken.

In a large bowl add all lettuce and spinach.

2015-01-05 19.18.46

2015-01-05 19.20.52

then toss in black beans

2015-01-05 19.18.59

cheese

2015-01-05 19.23.20

corn

2015-01-05 19.21.12

and fried onions and/or tortilla chips(I didn’t have tortilla chips so I added french fried onions and it was amazing)

2015-01-05 19.19.10

Top with sliced chicken then

Top with avocado slices.

2015-01-05 19.25.06

Drizzle with ranch dressing

2015-01-05 19.13.15

and bbq sauce then toss and serve!

th (3)

Serves 3 er I mean 4.  That is if you’re good at sharing.

Today is Whipped cream day. (what you do with it is none of my business)

Tomorrow is Cuddle Up Day. 

Leave a Reply

