Save Money, Live Better Beautifully

I am a laid back, low maintenance kind of girl. Do I like to look and feel good, um yes.  I don’t go over the top and I can usually get ready in 25 minutes with a shower and leg shaving and makeup.  I do have a show string arsenal of makeup products and my own homemade beauty products but sometimes I’d like to try something lusher and top quality.  I was recently introduced to subscription boxes. There is this great site called my subscription addiction.  I decided to start off small and see how it feels.  I came across Wal-mart Beauty Box.  It’s free and you only pay $5 s/h.  I thought hmm not too shabby.  I signed up for it in october for the winter box being sent on 11/23/14 since the only do quarterly boxes and fall was already sold out. 11/30 came and still no box.  I called and their number had been disconnected.  I thought oh crap! I found there email and emailed a concerned yet non-confrontational email.  I received a reply within 24 hours letting me the number was having problems and the shipment was delayed to high volume and it will ship within week or so.  Which it did, yay.  When I received box it came in a nice cardboard box and had a variety of products.


2014-12-15 16.44.102014-12-15 13.03.39

Dove Oxygen Moisture Shampoo and Conditioner  – 1 oz travel size – $1 value each  My son snatched these up to try. He liked both and said they smelled nice and felt clean and silky. He didn’t like the fact that the conditioner was barely half full and only got 1 use out of it.

2014-12-15 16.45.19

Covergirl Outlast all-day lip color in Canyon – Full Size – $7 value   Its nice have a full size item but this is my least favorite all-day lipstick out there and I would never be able to pull off a rusty orange color.

2014-12-15 16.45.30

Dove  Deep Moisture Body Wash – 1.8 oz travel size –  $1 value

2014-12-15 16.45.39

Ponds Cold Cream Cleanser – looks like a 2 oz travel size – $1.50 value (estimate since full size is only $4.60)

2014-12-15 16.45.59

Ponds Wet Cleansing Towelettes in Fresh Clean – 5 count travel size – $1 value (these I have used before and are nice to have for emergency touch-ups.  I will be putting these in my Bug out bag.)

2014-12-15 16.46.08

Maybelline Dream Wonder Powder Coupon and tester – $1 coupon (I don’t like the idea of a coupon with a tester. There is no way to know if you like it when there isn’t even enough to try out on your whole face.)  This would have been my favorite item if the gave a multi-use sample size.  I believe you need to try it for a week to really know if you like it or not. But for some it may be perfect. If you already know you like it then the coupon is a great incentive.

2014-12-15 16.46.26

Overall not too crazy about a box full of items from the travel section. The value seems to be about $12-13.  I did have higher expectations since the website showed a box full of Deluxe sized items and Full size items that was universally useable.  I am not sure if this is the norm for Wal-mart Beauty Box or not but I won’t write them off quite yet.  I will try the next quarter box and see if this one was a fluke or not.

Today is Go Caroling Day, Sangria Day and Games Day (so sing christmas songs while playing a family board game sipping on a glass of sangria)

Tomorrow is Crossword Puzzle Day, Winter Solstice and World peace Day (Global Orgasm Day? hmmm don’t mind if I do)

Leave a Reply

